Happy 4th of July!

Published July 5, 2010 by kazkitty

WARNING: This post may be full of randomness and rambling.. and may end up being way longer than I intended..

I have been busy busy busy!

Friday night kicked off this wonderful 3 day holiday weekend with my hanging out with Takarra. Which we haven’t gotten to do in MONTHS. Especially with the moving and such. We are all moved out, apartment cleaned, and keys returned to crazy landlady Diane. Hopefully she will mail me most of my security deposit.. we’ll see. She is crazy after all.

Anyways, we ACTUALLY got to hang out.. went to dinner, went to the movies (Saw Grownups.. it was ok.. kinda funny- don’t waste your money in the theater though. Netflix or Redbox it), and we even got to hang out with the Hamden boys, who I haven’t seen in months and I miss. It was a nice relaxing, fun kind of night. Really great start to the weekend.

Saturday was the start of Tour de Fleece!

I spun and spun and spun on my Two Tails coffee burl spindle all morning. I started on a BFL/Silk blend fiber bite from Corgi Hill Farm. It was delightful.

Pretty blue fiber

I also went and hung out with Jacie and spun even more.. I finished the blue fiber bite and I started spinning my Corgi Hill Random Wine batts, which are pink and girly and oh so pretty!

Random Wine? Yes, please!

Sunday found me with Jacie and Kris, off to the farmer’s market in Coventry. I had never been to a farmer’s market before, so I was really excited. It was a LOT of fun and I bought lots of great veggies for salad, fresh bread, blueberries, and handmade soap that smells so good you want to eat it.

mmmmm blueberries

We stopped by Shady Glen for lunch.. which I for some reason, had never heard of before. The burger was delicious, and covered in melted fried cheese, and the coleslaw was homemade and probably some of the best I’ve ever had.

Holy fried cheese, Batman!

This was followed up by hanging out at Jacie’s place, spinning and knitting, and harassing Ms. Tilly and Ms. Madori.

I plied the blue singles from the day before, and spun on the Joy.

"Selfish" in Shetland by Spunky Eclectic

Around 8 we ventured out to the park by Central to watch the fireworks. Some spinning was done there as well, to which we were given strange looks. A little boy even came over and asked what we were doing.

Merino/Firestar batt bite from Corgi Hill

Jacie had whipped up some delicious booze infused lemonade for the outing. Fresh squeezed lemon juice, gin, triple sec, and basil infused simply syrup.. YUM. Kris and I may or may not have enjoyed that a bit too much. We didn’t have time to make salad for dinner from the veggies from the farmers market (I made one today and it was AMAZING) but we did bring the loaf of french bread, which was quite tasty. The fireworks were a lot of fun to watch, but getting out of the parking garage was a nightmare. We made it out without killing anyone (which was a miracle) and really just had a fun night.

Speaking of the french bread… I brought the last little chunk home, thinking I would enjoy the rest of it with the salad… but I woke up to find this…

Gnawed on bread in the middle of the living room floor.

Breadcrumbs EVERYWHERE!

Kilala checking out the evidence.. the empty bread bag.

I didn't do it mom, I swear! Blame the fat one.

*SIGH*

I guess this is what I get for laughing at Jacie in the Tilly vs. pie incident.

After cleaning up the crumbs and half eaten bread, I made muffins with the blueberries and had them for breakfast. So yummy!

Regular sized and mini muffins, you can't go wrong with that!

It’s really hot today… in the upper 90’s, so I’m just trying to stay cool with our ghetto air conditioner. Netflix and spinning will keep me entertained for a while, since I’m avoiding cleaning, and later there should be more shenanigans with Jacie and Kris.

So... Hot...

Hope everyone else had just as much fun this weekend!

Leave a Reply

