Tour de Fleece Update Weekend Randomness

Published July 18, 2010 by kazkitty

It’s just past the two week mark of Tour de Fleece.. where am I with my goals?

Well, I finished the Spunky Eclectic Selfish.

Shetland 3ply 405 yds

I’m so happy with it, even if it didn’t come out the way I planned it when I started last year. I think it wants to be socks.

I am also past the halfway mark on the Corgi Hill Batt and Fiber bites. Only two left!

Merino/Silk/Firestar (green): 41 yds, BFL/Silk (blue): 65 yds

Superwash BFL: 61 yds

Polwarth: in progress

And one of the Corgi Hill Random Wine batts is completed.

Merino/Bamboo/BFL/Firestar

There’s one week left to the tour. It ends Sunday, July 25. I have two fiber bites, 4 oz of Spunky Eclectic Istanbul Sunset, and just under an ounce of Corgi Hill bunny silk to spin to make my goals. Can it be done???

Aside from trying to spin, spin, spin, I have been a busy little bee. I have been slowly unpacking and trying to put away my things before Nico decides it’s all junk and tosses everything in the dumpster (j/k). And there’s the constant chasing after the kitties, and cleaning up after the bunnies. Last night I went to my friend Bri’s sister’s Jack n Jill. It was a little akward at first, seeing as I didn’t know anyone.. but she introduced me to some of her family, andI ended up haveing a really good time. I’m still sad that I had to miss out on Kris’ birthday dinner, but there’s always next time. There was also a big raffle, and I ended up winning a 24″ flatscreen tv! Which Nico had already claimed and wants to use as a computer moniter. He’s the definition of computer nerd. *eyeroll*

Today, I went to the farmer’s market in Coventry again with Kris and Jacie. There was an art gala, and wine tasting, and as usual, it was a really good time. I bought a pretty pendant, Jacie bought some sweet handpainted martini glasses, and Kris bought some really pretty dragonfly pottery coasters from the art gala. I also came home with some yummy basil, blueberries, raspberries, and peaches. And then they took me to Penzeys Spices where I bought some random spice rubs and hot cocoa mix. They do introduce me to the most awesome places. 🙂

The blueberries and peaches became the most awesome cobbler (recipe from Smitten Kitchen)

Peach Blueberry Cobbler with Cornmeal Biscuit Topping

And the raspberries became a Raspberry Buttermilk Cake (also courtesy of Smitten Kitchen). I haven’t tasted that one yet, it will most likely come to work with me tomorrow.

It doesn't look like much, but it's filled with raspberry deliciousness!

And the basil was put on pizza. I love making food with fresh ingredients.

Next weekend, there should be tubing on the Farmington River and more farmer’s market fun, so I have lots to look forward to!

😀

6 comments on “Tour de Fleece Update Weekend Randomness

  • Love the spunky yarn. It will make awesome socks.

    I am in love with Smitten Kitchen. I want some of that cobbler and cake.

    Also you suck a little — stop having fun without me.

  • Leave a Reply

