Tour de Fleece 2010: Finish Line!

Published July 29, 2010 by kazkitty

Tour de Fleece ended on Sunday and while it was fun, I can’t wait to get back to knitting.

My main goal for this year was to try and spin every day. The previous two years, I failed with this and petered out after a few days. This year, with friends to spin along with, and fun threads and prizes to win in the Spunky Eclectic and Corgi Hill groups, it was much easier to keep on track. I spun every day except the two rest days, and even though I did not complete all my goals, I am really pleased with what I did accomplish.

Goal 1: Spin every day.  >complete!

Goal 2: Spin the remaining 5 Corgi Hill batt and fiber bites.  > complete!

352 yds of laceweight

Goal 3: Spin half of the 1.9oz of Corgi Hill Bunny Silk.  >fail.

This was to be spun on the challenge day. I test spun a little bit and found it to be really fiddly. I am going to have to attempt it on one of the wheels some other time.

Goal 4: Spin 1 of the two Random Wine batts from Corgi Hill.  > complete!

BFL, Merino, Bamboo and Firestar

Goal 5: Finish spinning the Spunky Eclectic Selfish that I started last year.  >complete!

405 yds Fingering Weight, 3 ply

Goal 6: Spin Spunky Eclectic Istanbul Sunset.  >fail?

Technically I wrote in my original post about the TdF goals that I wanted to “start” spinning this fiber.. and I did.. but I am only 1/3 of the way done with it… so I’ll call it a partial fail.

South African Fine in Istanbul Sunset... aiming for a 3 ply sock yarn

It was a lot of fun and it feels really good to actually have some finished yarns. It was also a really good motivator to get me to start on that fiber stash (especially since I am in stashdown mode until Rhinebeck!).

I also won a prize from Corgi Hill Farm in the Two Tails spin a long! We had to spin Corgi Hill fiber on a Two Tails spindle. I don’t know what it is yet, Anna said she was going to stalk and send a surprise! I can’t wait. =)

Coming up for August and September is the 4oz Challenge. Essentially, you have to spin no more than 4 oz of fiber from either Spunky Eclectic, Hello Yarn, or Southern Cross Fibers, design, and knit/crochet/weave a pattern. Since I happen to have a decently sized stash of Spunky fiber, I thought this would be fun to try. I have never designed a pattern before, so this should be interesting!

2 comments on “Tour de Fleece 2010: Finish Line!

  • Leave a Reply

