4! Ounce! Challenge!

Published August 21, 2010 by kazkitty

There’s a contest going on for the months of August and September called the 4! Ounce! Challenge! and it involves spinning up to 4oz of fiber from either Spunky Eclectic, Hello Yarn, or Southern Cross Fiber, finishing the yarn, and designing a pattern. Pattern also needs to be test knitted and such. In 2 months! Eeeek! Of course I was interested, especially because I happen to have a ton of Spunky fiber in the stash, although I don’t know what I’m doing with pattern designing. My yarn is finished.. just need to break out a stitch dictionary and start planning! I’m thinking maybe a hat and mitts set or something.

Spunky Eclectic Soul Windows, SW Corriedale

2 ply, 330 yds, 15 WPI

Also because I am a bad, lazy blogger, I failed to write about last weekend’s excursion to Fiber Revival. I went with Kris and Jacie and had tons of fun (of course I forgot to take pics). Aaaand I may have added to the stash a bit… but staashdown is still on, I swear!  You try and resist the cashmere blends and polwarth fiber, I dare ya.

Pretty pretty Polwarth roving

Merino, Cashmere, Nylon - The Woolen Rabbit

Merino, Nylon- The Woolen Rabbit

Jacie also gifted me with some lovely yarn.. since I  forced her to take the Mrs. Darcy Cardigan off my hands. It was knit from Malabrigo Twist so I really had to twist her arm. =)    I apparently suck at math and made it way too small to fit me, but with some heavy handed blocking, it should fit her.. so yay!

Anyways, she gave me some lovely Classic Elite Miracle and Lorna’s Laces, and I will be attempting to make Mina’s Tuxedo Vest with it. Hoping to finish by Rhinebeck.

Lovely Lorna's Laces

Yummy Alpaca/Tencel Classic Elite Miracle

Not working on too much else right now… still knitting the Brigade sweater, and there’s some spinning projects too, but as usual, I fail at taking pictures. Maybe next post!

One comment on “4! Ounce! Challenge!

  • Leave a Reply

