Farmer’s Market and Strawberry Jam

Published July 10, 2011 by kazkitty

On Sundays. I’ve been going to the Farmer’s Market in Coventry with Kris. It’s something I really look forward to each week… there’s so much stuff to see,  fresh veggies and food to buy, and yummy food carts to grab lunch. Last Sunday we bought a ton of strawberries to make jam, which I had never done before. It was fun to do, and as usual, I love learning new things.  And the jam was delicious and perfect for the english muffin bread I’ve been buying at the market.

 

Pretty berries.

 

Gizmo says, "No way I'm getting involved!"

 

Thumper says, "I get to supervise!"

 

Hulling and smashing berries.

 

14 cups of sugar?!

 

Jars waiting to be filled.

 

Cooking the berries and relaxing with wine. 😀

 

Filling the jars...

 

Yummy, yummy jam. ❤

 

That day Meadow Point Studios was there with some really beautiful pieces of pottery. I tried to resist, but Kris found a yarn bowl on the seconds table that I fell in love with. And then I figured since I was purchasing the yarn bowl, I might as well throw in the teacup I was ogling (to be used as a support spindle bowl). I want to get a couple of her berry cup and saucer sets.. they’re so adorable and ingenious!

Teacup and yarn bowl!

 

This sunday I didn’t come home with too much.. some blueberries, raspberries, cucumber, peppers, and more english muffin bread… but Kris and I walked over to the little park near her house afterwards to hang out and knit/spin. It was such a perfect day to be outside… nice and sunny, low humidity.. I wish all summer days could be like this one!

Kris trying to get dragonfly pictures... those suckers are fast!

 

Pretty liitle park. 🙂

 

Plied finn/milk singles on the Tulipwood Bosworth Mini.

 

On the spinning front, Tour de Fleece continues.. I’ve been making good progress so far and actually spinning every day.

On the knitting front… not too much going on… I probably won’t make too much of an effort to get anything new started until TdF is over.. too much spinning to do!

😀

Leave a Reply

