WIP Wednesday

Published January 25, 2012 by kazkitty

So… I fully intended on writing up a post last Wednesday.. but then I ended up helping a friend out with a photoshoot and was too tired when I came home.. Figured I’d wait for the weekend to do an update, then just got lazy. I haven’t been doing all that much lately anyways.. just a little bit of spinning here and there, and knitting on some of the ongoing projects.

Spinning-wise, I decided to tackle some of the Corgi Hill angora/silk again. It’s been languishing in the stash and I really need to spin it. I had tried to spin some of it on one of the support spindles a while ago.. but I’m still not that good at support spindling, so I gave that up. Here’s take #2 on my Bosworth Box Flame Elder Mini.

2012-01-15_15-22-58_335.jpg

I also cleared a couple of bobbins and plied the bits of yarn on them. I have  tendency to start spinning, then ignore what I was working on for a while.. then I forget how I was spinning it.. and then I give up.

I’m not sure what the shiny fiber is.. I’m guessing a merino/tencel from Painted Sheep… and the green is from my Forest Kitten batts from Corgi Hill. I got appx 45yds of  the merino/tencel and appx 75 yds of the green.

2012-01-22_11-24-14_786.jpg

After clearing off a couple of bobbins, I dug through the stash and pulled out this lovely Merino/Yak/Silk blend from Corgi Hill. It’s so soft and lovely to work with. I’m still trying to decide if it wants to be a 2ply of navajo plied when the singles are done.

2012-01-22_11-21-07_232.jpg

I’m only about a quarter of the way through the braid… not sure how much it weighed (scale needs new batteries).

2012-01-22_15-22-52_260.jpg

Kilala decided that I wasn’t allowed to ignore her, and climbed on my lap for a power nap.

2012-01-22_14-14-37_131.jpg

Moki chose to lay on the couch behind my head and supervise. Seeing that I had everything under control, he also decided to nap.

2012-01-22_14-15-07_62.jpg

Knitting-wise, I’ve been working on only two things: the Habitat Hat and the Sharktooth Shawl.

Habitat now looks like this:

2012-01-15_15-23-37_671.jpg

I love the way the cables are starting to look, and the squishiness of the yarn. I’m finding that I can’t work on this project unless I can focus 100% of my attention on it though. I can’t even watch something on TV and knit this at the same time.. I keep making mistakes. And now I remember why I hate cabling…

I finished section 1 of Sharktooth last week:

2012-01-15_15-24-26_788.jpg

And was plowing through Section 2 this week… but I feel like I’ve come to a standstill with it.

It’s pretty, soft, and squishy… but I’m just not feeling it. I love the yarn and I love the pattern… but not together for some reason. I’m debating whether or not I should frog it and use the yarn for something else. As of right now, I’ve put it in time out so I can think about if I really want to finish it. If anyone has any suggestions, I’m open!

I also really need to go back to knitting on Spectra.. and I haven’t done a single Hexipuff since November! January is almost over and I don’t have a single finished object… better get cracking!

Leave a Reply

