Sundays are for….

Published April 22, 2012 by kazkitty

Sewing!

At least that’s what I did so far today…

A couple of weeks ago, I was browsing different crafty blogs, and stumbled upon In Color Order. She has a great blog, with lots of tutorials. I was taken by the cool/warm quilts and decided that I wanted to try quilting again. A baby quilt though.. nothing too big and crazy.

After browsing other people’s projects, and going through all the tutorials, I decided on a green/brown color scheme. I was also really inspired by this beautiful quilt.

Some hours later found me with these fabrics.

2012-04-01_09-57-21_511.jpg

And after cutting and sewing all the blocks, I laid them out to look like this:
(I messed up on the upper and lower right hand sides.. I did fix it before I sewed it all together)
2012-04-01_12-15-15_693.jpg

I forgot about it for a couple of weeks, focusing on finishing my Color Affection Shawl.. but today I dragged it out and finished the top.
2012-04-22_15-18-36_538.jpg

Tomorrow, I’m going to get the backing fabric and batting.. and somehow figure out how to actually quilt this thing… it’s going to be a present for Nico’s nephew at some point.. maybe for his 1st birthday.

Since was too lazy to go out to JoAnn Fabric’s today to look for the backing fabric, I dug though the fabric stash and found a pretty combo to make a project bag. I used this tutorial from In Color Order.

I do like to try out different tutorials and ways of making little drawstring bags.. and I really like this one. It’s super easy and didn’t take too long.

I used coffee fabric left over from another bag I made, and used a light blue floral for the lining and ties.
2012-04-22_17-39-44_882.jpg

2012-04-22_17-40-10_546.jpg

I think it’s really cute, and I already want to make more. This one is going to be my new sock project bag. 😀
2012-04-22_17-39-09_124.jpg

Leave a Reply

