Gathered Clutch

Published June 10, 2012 by kazkitty

I was in complete sewing mode yesterday, that’s for sure. I really wanted to get started on the Dogwood Blossom block (part of the Handstitched Class I signed up for – more on that another post), but alas! I had no freezer paper or spray starch. And I was too lazy to leave the house and go out to Wal-Mart.

I browsed through some tutorials online for various clutches, and settled on the gathered clutch tutorial by Noodlehead. I dug through the stash and found some random but coordinating fabrics to work with and got to cutting and sewing.

A couple of hours later, I had this really cute and simple clutch!

Gathered Clutch

I was a bit lazy and didn’t include a divider or card pockets on the inside. And I only had 7″ zippers to work with, so the whole thing is a wee bit smaller that it’s supposed to be. It’s still a decent size, and even fits my phone inside! There’s enough room for money, credit cards, phone, and some gloss or lipstick, so it’ll be great for when I want to run out somewhere and I don’t want a big purse.

Of course I used the blue leopard print for the interior…

Gathered Clutch

And I used blue thread instead of being all matchy-matchy.. because I like contrast.

Gathered Clutch

The only thing I wish I had done was add a strap… but that can go on the next one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 comments on “Gathered Clutch

  • Leave a Reply

