Handstitched Class

Published June 18, 2012 by kazkitty

So what’s this class? And what’s it all about?

Why.. handstitching, of course!

When I saw that Rachel from Stitched in Color was offering an online class for handstitching, I was immediately intrigued. After reading the blog posts about it, I knew I had to sign up. I decided to sign up for the most basic, figuring that if I didn’t like it, at least I wouldn’t be wasting too much money.

Well, I had nothing to worry about, because I love it! We’re starting the second week of classes today, and I’m really looking forward to the different projects.

Two weeks ago was the first set of classes and projects (last week was the “rest week” for getting all the stitching done) and I enjoyed it a lot. We learned different techniques for reverse applique. So far I have only completed one of the projects: the eyelet needlebook.

Handstitched Class- Eyelet Needlebook

It was a fast and easy project to complete, and perfect for beginners like me.

Handstitched Class - Eyelet Needlebook (inside)

I skipped over the embellished tank and went straight to working on the Dogwood Blossom block for the Center of the Modern Medallion Quilt, which is the main class project.

Dogwood Blossom

It’s pretty clear to me that my handstitching needs a lot of work. I got almost halfway around the blossom, then realized my stitches were getting bigger and spaced further apart.

DSC07960

DSC07961

Sigh.

I ripped them all out and started over. Its still not perfectly even, but much better than before. I’m happy with it so far.

Close up of stitching on Dogwood Blossom

I’ve never done reverse applique before, so this was interesting to do. It involved starch and freezer paper, and while I was a bit confused at first, it turned out to be fun. I’m already imagining a bunch of different things I can do for future quilts.

Back of block after pressing
Dogwood Blossom

Front of block after pressing
Dogwood Blossom

I really have to get my butt in gear and finish the stitching around the blossom, then add the borders. Tomorrow’s class will go over the next section to be embroidered. I know it’s going to be really time consuming, and I really want to attempt to keep up with this project!

One comment on “Handstitched Class

  • Leave a Reply

